Modern Governance 100

The Diligent Modern Governance 100 provides board members, elected officials and executives the opportunity to recognize the world’s top governance, IT, risk and compliance professionals. These individuals are driving their organizations towards greater diversity, sustainable practices, digital transformation and sharper insights for company leadership.

Nominations are now closed for the 2021 Diligent Modern Governance 100. Recipients will be announced at the Modern Governance Summit.

Nomination Categories

ESG & Diversity Trailblazer

A forward thinker enabling a high-performing organization to increase diversity and operationalize ESG to successfully measure and track progress.

Digital Transformation Innovator

An individual championing digital transformation of governance, risk or compliance practices and driving operational efficiency through streamlined workflows.

Cyber Risk Leader

A security professional committed to enhancing an organization’s cybersecurity and effectively providing the board of directors with visibility into cyber risk.

Driver of Audit Excellence

A trusted business advisor leading a dynamic audit management program that delivers strategic insight into risk, increasing day-to-day efficiencies, and driving impactful change.

Risk & Compliance Visionary

An individual driving an organization-wide strategic risk management program that delivers executive visibility and assurance, effectively demonstrates compliance and increases day-to-day efficiencies.

Outstanding Community Ally

An individual who has shown outstanding commitment to supporting their local community and school districts by driving positive change in their governance practices.

Judging Panel

ESG & Diversity Trailblazer

Lola Young
Member of the House of Lords
Non-executive Director

Paul Washington
Executive Director
ESG Center, The Conference Board

Matt DiGuiseppe
VP of Research & ESG

Digital Transformation Innovator

Anddria Clack-Rogers Varnado
Divisional President & GM
Kohler Company and Board Member

Ana Plaza
Independent Director and Audit Committee Chair

Lisa Edwards
President & COO, Diligent
Board Director, Colgate-Palmolive

Cyber Risk Leader

Sachin Bansal
General Counsel

Julie Chatman
Senior Director, Cyber Security Strategy Office

Henry Jiang

Driver of Audit Excellence

Carole Switzer

Daniel Clark
D. Clark Risk Advisory Services

Dan Zitting

Risk & Compliance Visionary

Kristy Grant Hart
Founder & CEO
Spark Compliance Consulting

Dyke Debrie
Managing Director
Steele Compliance

Kevin Moylan
First Vice President, Risk Management
Cathay Bank

Outstanding Community Ally

Heather Masshardt
Director of Policy Services

Alex Fike
Senior Director, People & Culture
United Way Worldwide

MarKeith Allen
SVP and General Manager, Mission Driven Organizations


How are recipients selected?

Recipients will be selected by an expert panel of judges based on the nomination form submitted. Be sure to include all information relevant to the category you are submitting a nomination for and, where possible, include details of outcomes that have been achieved.

When will recipients be announced?

The 2021 Modern Governance 100 recipients will be announced at Diligent’s Modern Governance Summit – the largest gathering of governance, risk, compliance and audit professionals from across the globe. You can register here to attend.

2020 Modern Governance 100

Even in times of uncertainty, these individuals found opportunities for growth. Often working behind the scenes, these modern governance leaders drive their organizations toward greater diversity, sustainable practices and sharper insights for company leadership.